PDFpen Pro 5.2.1 Review (March 20, 2011)

Posted: March 20, 2011 by docbabad in Software Reviews
Tags: , ,

By Harry {doc} Babad, © Copyright 2011, All Rights Reserved.

Product: PDFpen Pro 5.2.1 – a tool to split, combine, re-order, and edit PDF files
Vendor: Smile Software
(Developer’s Website)
Cost
: Price PDFpen $55.95, while the Pro Version is $99.95 [USD]. An upgrade from Pen to Pen Pro is available, if desired at a later date. An upgrade from PDFpen version 5 is available for $25. [USD]
Availability: Download (41.7 MB)
Quill Ratings 4.5
A Functional time-limited demo is available

System Requirements: System Requirements:

  • PDFpen 5.x and PDFpen Pro 5.x require: Mac OS X version 10.6 (Snow Leopard) or later.
  • For Macintosh OS X 10.4 and 10.5, use PDFpen 4.7.1 or PDFpen Pro 4.7.1.

Audience: All individuals needing to modify PDF, no matter their general level of Macintosh proficiency. This is NOT an Acrobat Pro replacement, nor is it meant to be, but it’s a darn fine PDF content ‘text’ and PDF page-editing tool.

Strengths: When it comes to modifying PDFs, SmileOnMyMac’s PDFpen far exceed the functionality of OS X’s free Preview and is a one-for-one feature competitor to Adobe’s $449 Acrobat Pro. At only $50, PDFpen goes well beyond Preview’s PDF processing power, yet it offers some of the same features you’ll find in the much more costly Acrobat Pro.

Weaknesses: Within its stated design and functional scope, I could find no serious or even significant flaws in the software. Like all complex and full-featured software packages, the product has both its strengths and an occasion weakness. The strengths includes include a clean but not quite intuitive interface, low cost and exceptional stability. None of my experiments crashed this program. However, an occasional task that isn’t intuitive only took a quick check at the instruction manual or help files. The combination of a Macintosh compliant design, an easy to explore interface, and acceptable availability of help made becoming comfortable with it an easy task.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Doc’s Introduction Including the Publisher’s Summary

Background On This Software Genre — I spend somewhere between six to eight hours a day on my iMac doing research for and writing many articles and an occasional book. I am passingly skillful at most non-graphics oriented software and even review Macintosh software genre tools for word processing, image editing and label creation, email, database creation and use, and internet search. Most of my time is spent either word processing in MS Word [MSW] and on occasion NeoOffice, or in editing and annotating downloaded (mostly) or scanned and OCR’d PDF files using Acrobat Pro or more recently PDFpen Pro.

By circumstance I’ve become quite proficient in using the editing and page reformatting = features of Adobe Acrobat Pro 9.x, in part from having had the opportunity to beta test version 9 for Adobe. I have also demonstrated Acrobat’s editing tools focused narrowly on cleaning up messily formatted web recipes for my local Macintosh users group and in articles for the now defunct macCompanion eZine.

I’m also half-way, perennially, through writing an ebook into which I crammed everything I learned about editing PDFs with Acrobat Pro, a fantastic Mañana project that will serve as a source of at least a baker’s dozen tutorial articles.

Never the less, or perhaps despite this focus, I’ve followed the evolution of Phil Goward’s Smile On My Mac’s (now, Smile software) PDFpen and PDFpen Pro software. Indeed, in back in 2009, for macCompanion [macC], I reviewed PDF Pen 4.0.4 giving it a stingy 4.5/5.0 rating. My June 2005 macC review of version 2.1 rated the product a 4.0/4.5.

Two Things Have Led Me To Re-Review This Product.

First and foremost it was a excellent, easy to learn and use PDF editing tool that met many if not most of my editing needs. The fact that the Smile products were moderately priced, did not hurt my incentive for a re-review.

I have no needs for doing collaborative reviews in PDF format, which I do in MSW. I have never needed to create interactive forms, seriously control document formatting for commercial publication and distribution, or using top-level securitization.

Second, unlike the introduction of Elements by Adobe as a poor man’s Photoshop, and Bento by FileMaker Corporation, it appears that Adobe has not committed to an Acrobat Elements for the rest of us at a reasonable non-business users price.

  • I found a $199 upgrade to Acrobat 9.x to X on the Adobe site,
  • A Student/Teacher edition for $199 or Adobe Acrobat X Professional Upgrade [Mac] for $183 both on Amazon, and
  • A student/teacher edition for $119 and the Pro version for $159 on the at the Academic Superstore site

I found the newest version of PDFpen for ca. $36 but not the Pro version on Amzon.com. Of course Smiles Software offer an upgrade path. – The combination is what Consumer Reports would call a best buy!

Publishers Summary Product(s) Description — Edit PDFs easily with PDFpen! Add text, images and signatures. Make corrections. Fill out PDF forms. Merge, delete and reorder pages. Pro allows you to convert websites into PDFs, create PDF forms, and build a table of contents.

In the Appendix, I show Smiles comparison, using an edited version of the core abilities in PDFpen, PDFpen Pro and Adobe acrobat, with an added bit of Apple’s Preview for information. The short version is provided below.

Features of PDFpen Pro:

  • Replace text in original PDF with editable text blocks
  • Move, resize, copy and delete images in original PDF
  • Overlay text and images onto PDF (for example, sign purchase orders by applying signature image)
  • Perform Optical Character Recognition (OCR) on scanned documents
  • Insert and remove pages; re-order pages in a PDF by drag & drop
  • Copy and paste rich text; retain fonts and formatting when copying from PDFs
  • Select and copy text across multiple columns
  • Fill out and save PDF forms
  • Add (and print) notes and comments
  • Markup documents with highlighting, underscoring and strike-through
  • Save frequently-used images, signatures, objects and text in the Library
  • Use with Page Sender for a complete fax turn-around solution
  • Automate PDF manipulations with AppleScript

Getting Started

This is a well-developed Macintosh application. Drag it to your applications folder. Start using it in demo mode or type in a password. Decide which preference settings you prefer. Check out any readme files. Your good to go.

Working With the Product — My tough love choice.

I knew I was well trained (conditioned) both consciously and subliminally to edit any new PDF in the ‘acrobat’ manner. So, for most of this review, I turned Acrobat Pro off, and instructed the finder to open all PDF files in PDF pen. No you don’t really want to do this – I hated every minute of it!

However, I couldn’t think of any better way to force my self to do ALL my routine work in the Smile product.

Using the Software

Over 3-4 weeks of routine on and off PDF associated work, I did my thing with Smiles latest Pro Version 5.2.1

What thing(s)…

  1. Annotating several dozen downloaded (with Safari mostly) technical articles for my software and greening articles including some posted at a technical meeting site for which I am a peer reviewer,
  2. Cleaning up 10’s of downloaded recipes, both for my general recipes collection but mostly for my new ‘cooking for Kosher-keeping friends’. Cookbook. These download were created by (1) using Apple’s print to PDF feature and either Safari’s (2) new reader tool, or the (3) get a printer friendly copy on a site’s web page.
  3. Working with and extracting technical information from scanned/OCR’d documents, of the still to be shrunk down, collection of paper documents. Much of this was simply annotating the papers for easier future search [HoudahSpot a Spotlight front end] by adding key words, or other notes relating the document to other related technical work.

Some of the items I worked with were documents that I’d printed to PDF from MS Word files, others came to me as PDF files from my PC using colleagues — the remainder, were web downloads from technical information sites. A nice mix, if I do say so myself!

The Bad, but Only Transient, News — The user interfaces, menu and command structure in PDF Pro were sufficiently unique, that my knowledge of Acrobat Pro was a distraction if not a downright hindrance to my relearning the new software. I was also seriously distracted but the tool named created by the software’s developer, that bore little or no relationship to the semantics of the Adobe tool names and at times function. More about that later. As a result, for perhaps a long week of intermittent use, it slowed my work down. This was unlearning curve time, while I tuned in to, and became comfortable with the PDFpen interface. For me, a one time significant but quickly passing productivity problem.

Troublesome Tools Interface, At Least Initially — The lack of the ability to highlight the various icons shown below to show their names, unlike tools in in Acrobat, slowed me down. The help files told me that each tool did, but the icon functions were unfamiliar and their tool names/functions took time to learn.

But checking PDF Pen Help on line helped in making my review possible, but didn’t shorten my Acrobat trained, learning curve. …Old dogs, new tricks?


PDFpen Pro Toolbar [Customized]
Format Menu Text Tools Select Objects Tools

The Good News — I soon learned how to do everything I needed that was within the software’s functions, with the Smiles product. Once I’d learned the interface, it’s like owning and driving both a stick shift high performance car and a family automatic SUV. For less experienced users to those new to PDF editing tools, beyond a PDF reader, that learning curve is more normal, and not at all as steep.

Note — Apple has provided some PDF editing capabilities in its free Preview Application, but I’ve never knowingly tried to use it. Preview has some ability to view PDF files including read, search, and add notes to PDF files; as well as allowing you to annotate image files by adding your own notes, for highlighting text you want to remember, and circling sections you don’t want others to miss. It however it is not, nor claims to be, a full featured PDF editor.

Rather than continue this review, by summarizing the focus of PDFpen and Pro’s main features and where appropriate identifying each feature where PDFpen and Acrobat have functions in common — Reader, check out the appendix.

Note Apple has provided some PDF editing capabilities in its free Preview Application, but I’ve never knowingly tried to use it. Preview has some ability to view PDF files including read, search, and add notes to PDF files; as well as to annotate image files by adding your own notes, highlighting text you want to remember, and circling sections you don’t want others to miss. It however is not, nor claims to be a full featured PDF editor.

Software Focus and CapabilitiesAlthough PDFpen Pro can be used for tasks I don’t yet need, it serves mostly as a tool for PDF file creation, manipulation and ultimately content editing. It is software for people who want to work with, tweak of make major modification to PDF files rather than just read acquired PDF documents.

The product allows you to insert images, text boxes, comments, and links to other pages in the same document. You can also create hypertext links to website or email address, edit text, and draw almost any shape. PDFPen, since version 4.5.2 had added an improved OCR engine, and better scanner support in Mac OS X 10.6.

Specifically, features I value, I can replace text in original PDF with editable text blocks, move, resize, copy and delete images in a downloaded PDF and insert and remove pages; re-order pages in a PDF by drag & drop techniques. The software allows me to to copy and paste rich text from Word or other word processed documents into PDFs and to retain the original fonts and formatting when copying from PDFs into a document into NeoOffice or MS Word. When I need to, rarely, select and copy text across multiple columns that works with a minimal need to reformat the materials to unscramble the words parsed by lines not columns.

The software provides you the ability to use multicolored highlighting and

and remove the background color from imported images, neither of which interest me, yet. According to a tidbit by Rob Griffiths on Macworld, this is great for inserting your signature into PDF documents.

Although I have not yet used the software to develop a table of contents for a long PDF document, I’ll give that a try while working on my new eCookbook, useful since most of its example pages are downloaded and annotated web-blog recipes.

The original Smiles Features Comparisons List also contained information on PDFClerk Pro and Apple’s Preview, which I’ve eliminated as irrelevant to this review.

Kudos

There were two small but useful things I was delighted to easily do in PDFpen that required a round about route in Acrobat Pro 9.x.

  • First adding a new black PDF page was a menu item – no need to import a blank page from the finder.
  • Second, scanning Prescription or Medical ID card, two images are obtained, one for each side of the ID card. Combining these images (two PDF pages) using PDFpen was easy; I never did figure out how to do this in Acrobat. My required pasting the two images to a MSW document and printing that to PDF. Oh, when doing this with PDF pen, DON’T OCR the image… for obvious reasons.

Discomforts

I would welcome an easy way to split a full pdf page in to two or more parts, each part becoming a separate new PDF page. I’ve done this with both acrobat and PDFpen, but it’s a several step process — tedious.

Conclusions and Recommendations

One strength of PDFpen, apart from its lower price, is its simple WYSIWYG graphic interface where you can all the changes that occur as you work, and can undo any actions that don’t meet your needs or intent. Although I’ve gotten quite skillful at using Acrobat 9, there are too my things going on under the hood, to allow me to relax with the software.

Phil G, I will not give up Acrobat Pro for PDF Pen Pro, call it teaching an old man new tricks. But I do thank you, here an in an accompanying article entitled “WYSIWYG or Not which I will post later in the week.”

However, I unabashedly recommend PDFpen and ultimately PDFpen Pro to all of you readers who have not been gifted a corporate copy, of Acrobat Pro. In addition, should you have a copy of an earlier version of Acrobat pro (say v.7 or 8) on your computer, and need PDFpen’s rich feature set — do not pass GO – do not collect (spend) 200+ dollars; check out and do a test run with the Smiles Product.

PS:

I will be shortly posting an article called “WYSIWYG or Not — Web Page Content Redesign in Acrobat (Pro) and Now PDFPen Pro, A Responsible Macintosh Column [MHReports]. It contains my adventures, with the help of Smile’s Phil Goward, in pushing PDFpen beyond it’ design limits to clean up a really cluttered web downloaded obtained by printing a raw blog page recipe to PDF.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – — – – – – – – – –

Appendix

This Appendix contains an edited, truncated version, of the PDFpen and Pro product features as compared to Acrobat Pro 9 (Macintosh) posted on the Smile’s website. I have not, nor needed to validate the accuracy of Smile’s comparison for the all the itemized features of PDFpen, PDFpen Pro, and Acrobat 9. However, I vouch for those I used!

However, all the tools I needed for doing routine PDF file editing and reformatting were available to me. As I mentioned earlier, being a self acknowledged expert at editing in Acrobat was a liability. I’m guessing that most of you, my readers, will not be troubled by such skills so you learning curve will be shorter, or just perhaps just less frustrating than mine.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Copyright Notice: Product and company names and logos in this review may be registered trademarks of their respective companies.
Sidebar #1: Reviews were carried out on my iMac 2.8 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo with 2 GB 667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM running Mac OS X version 10.6.4 with all security updates kept current.
Sidebar #2: Disclaimer: When reviewing software I will often use the developer’s product, functions and features descriptions. Because of this unless I’m quoting directly from another source, I do no cutter up the review with quotation marks. All other comments are strictly my own and based on testing. Why need I rewrite the developer’s narratives, if they are clearly written?

Comments
  1. Jose John says:

    One of PDFpen Pro’s excellent features is the ability to create & edit a table of contents for a PDF. I’ve developed a utility which makes this even simpler, and in fact can automatically generate a TOC based on the contents of the PDF. Check out PDFOutliner on the Mac App Store, priced at $5.

  2. Nicely done. But is PDF Pen compatible with Acrobat? If my client uses Acrobat and I do markup in Pen, will they be able to edit and add in Acrobat?

    • harrybabad says:

      Sorry for my lateness in responding to this question. I have never had any problems going back and forth between PDF Pen and Acrobat Pro. Indeed depending on the complexity of the edit job I way even to a complex medley of AcrobatPro, PDF Pen and MS Word, with a touch of Acrobat Elements thrown in to reach my final design and content goal.

      However, when the changes are complete and saved, the product is as i=usable in Acrobat Pro or reader, and PDF pen . The recipient has no idea of how you created or enhanced an original PDF. All the the good! I hate software that make me jump though hoops when converting between them.

      As an aside, NeoOffice is totally compatible, at least at the level I use in my article and book writing with MS Office. Only the extension changes to guide the software on opening it for further use.

      Harry, aka doc_Babad

  3. Arnold Ward says:

    Once the PDF edited in PDF PEN has been opened in Preview it will not save any further edits – major glitch

Leave a Reply

