College: In-person Classes vs Online Schools (September 18, 2010)

Posted: September 18, 2010 by Mike Hubbartt in Academia
Tags: , , , , , ,

By Mike Hubbartt, © Copyright 2010, All Rights Reserved.

There are many schools that offer different programs for people to earn college degrees at the undergraduate and graduate level. I earned my undergraduate degree at Augsburg College, where I attended all but one course on campus. I did History of Jazz online and enjoyed the subject, as well as the interaction with the professor and classmates, but felt I got more out of being in a classroom. I’m now in St. Thomas’  graduate program, and I like seeing the professors and classmates regularly in person. It is nice to see other people with the same goal I have, which encourages me to keep working hard so I too achieve my goal of an advanced degree.

I’ve only spoken with one person that received a degree online (a Masters Degree in Computer Science) and I must admit I wasn’t impressed. This person said he earned a Masters Degree in Computer Science, but he couldn’t write code well enough or fast enough to do it for a living. I have to wonder why he bothered with the time and expense. He said his school (some unaccredited city college in Seattle) didn’t bother teaching computer science theory – they taught the students how to use Visual Studio and some programming languages. I believe he said they spent a total of 2 weeks learning how to write SQL queries… Whoa! I can honestly say my undergrad and grad school profs don’t take that approach. I’m certain other online schools offer a more traditional approach to teaching computer science.

What about your education experience? Did you go to some of the online schools like the University of Phoenix or Capella? Are the schools and programs accredited locally and nationally? How was the experience and would you recommend it to friends and family members? Lastly, did you go online because work/family considerations made it the best course of action? I’d like to hear some positive stories about online schools from students, which we can share with out readers.

What is your take?

Leave a Reply

