Free Nook eBook Software (August 21, 2010)

Posted: August 21, 2010 by Mike Hubbartt in Academia, Software Reviews
Tags: , , ,

by Mike Hubbartt, © Copyright 2010, All Rights Reserved.

I downloaded and installed the free Barnes & Nobel Nook software recently and I like it as much as the free Kindle software. It is easy to install and use (even for even computer neophytes), and everything I examined was easy to read. I did have three things I want to point out about the software:

1. The Good:  The Nook provides 10 free SparkCharts: Anthropology, Astronomy, Biology, Calculus 1, Chemistry, Essays and Term Papers, Macroeconomics, Psychology, Research Style and Usage, and Sociology. All are excellent references for new undergrads, and this will save you around $69.95 (with an average purchase price of $6.95).

2. The Bad: Unlike Kindle, I could not download free books without entering credit card information, even though I wanted to download free books. Why?

3. The Questionable: When an update installed, it used 7 significant digits to show download progress. Why would anyone want to see the download progress is 92.4577522 percent complete?

I honestly haven’t decided to buy the Nook or the Kindle. I do really like the Apple iPad , which is more than an electronic book but is also quite a bit more expensive than the Nook or Kindle. Students in the near future may only have the option of buying (or renting) electronic versions of textbooks, so I’d suggest downloading both free products and give them a try.

Comments
  1. Tim Rueb says:

    I recently evaluated all three and I think I’m heading to the iPad as well. It can hold apps that will allow me to read books from all major on-line sources. And to be honest, I’m running out of physical space for my library anyways.

    Here’s the analysis I did on the Apple iPad strategy.

    http://roihunters.wordpress.com/2010/04/01/marketing-warfare-the-ipad-battle/

    Now throw the iPhone 4 multitasking operating system on it and a camera for video conferencing and I found my new mobile office! 8)

    Good Hunting.

Leave a Reply

