Favorite Undergraduate Computer Science Courses

Posted: July 27, 2010 by Mike Hubbartt in Academia

by Mike Hubbartt, © Copyright 2010, All Rights Reserved.

I had several computer science classes I really enjoyed while working on my undergraduate degree.

I enjoyed the Object-Oriented programing class, because I really dove in and did every bit of the coding included in the textbook, as well as the code samples handed out by Professor Sutherland.

I also enjoyed Dr, Watters’ Algorithms class, although I will never again view embedded loops as acceptable solutions in any event.

I really loved both of Dr. Sheaffer’s Compiler classes. We used Java to write a C compiler to generate assembly language code – tell me it isn’t ironic to OO code to create a structured language compiler to generate assembly…

How about your favorite computer science classes? What were they and where were you going to school while taking them? Did the professor or the topic make the classes special?

Leave a Reply

